EFSP — Phase 36

Emergency Food and Shelter Program Applications Available

McKean County awarded $20,571.00 to fund local food and shelter programs

McKean County has been awarded $20,571.00 in direct federal funding under Phase 36 of the Emergency Food and Shelter Program (EFSP). This award will supplement emergency food and shelter programs in McKean County for a spending period of February 1, 2019 – January 31, 2020.

The National Board is comprised of representatives from health and human service agencies across the country.  The United States Congress appropriates funds annually to help expand the capacity of food and shelter programs in high-need areas nationally.

The local board, made up of representatives from McKean County, will determine how the funds will be distributed.  Local agency representation includes The Salvation Army, McKean/Potter Counties Chapter of the American Red Cross, United Way of the Bradford Area, Catholic Charities, Ministerial Association, local government, the McKean County Housing and Redevelopment Authority and the YWCA of Bradford.

Under the terms of the grant from the National Board, local organizations chosen to receive the funds must:  1) be private, voluntary non-profit organizations or units of government, 2) have an accounting system, 3) practice non-discrimination, 4) have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and/or shelter programs and 5) must have a voluntary board (if they are a private, voluntary organization).  Qualifying organizations are urged to apply.

Public or private voluntary organizations interested in applying for EFSP funds must contact the United Way of the Bradford Area at 368-6181 or admin@uwbanews.org.  Funds will be allocated to one local recipient organization per program/service; organizations which are able to meet spending and document submission requirements; and those which have electronic communication capabilities. The deadline for applications is Monday July 8, 2019.

For more information, please contact Paige LaBrozzi, Executive Director at the United Way.